Verano en el extranjero



The University of the Basque Country » Overview of the Institution

Universidad del País VascoOn 25th February 1980, the University of Bilbao became the University of the Basque Country/Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea. The institution has over 50,000 students, tutors and administrative staff. Also, 95 percent of all research in the Basque country takes place here, and its classrooms have seen the gradation of a quarter of a million students in diverse subjects. It is one of the most important universities in Spain in terms of numbers of degree courses and students.

This public university is distributed on three campuses, one in each Basque province. The institution refers to them using their official names in Basque (with the exception of Álava): Gipuzkoa Campus, Bizkaia Campus, and Álava Campus. These three sites house 31 faculties and schools which covers a wide variety of subjects. The University also has three associate centres: the University School of Nursing in Vitoria, the University School of Business Studies and the Begoñako Andra Mari de Bilbao University Teacher Training School.

The work of the University of the Basque Country is highly significant for this region, and today Euskadi cannot be conceived without it, and without the rich intellectual debate which has evolved around it.

The main address of the University of the Basque Country is:
The University of the Basque Country - Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea
Campus de Leioa
48949 Leioa
Teléfono: +34 94 601 20 00
Fax: +34 94 601 22 00